Nazarene Space

Dimension X can be heard each week on the Nazarene Radio Network Sundays at 2:00 PM Eastern; 1:00 PM Central; 12:00 Noon  Mountain and 11:00 AM Pacific Time.

Preceded by Mutual's 2000 Plus (1950–52), Dimension X was not the first adult science fiction series on radio, but the acquisition of previously published stories immediately gave it a strong standing with the science fiction community, as did the choice of well established, respected writers in the field: Isaac Asimov, Robert Bloch, Ray Bradbury, Fredric Brown, Robert A. Heinlein, Murray Leinster, H. Beam Piper, Frank M. Robinson, Clifford D. Simak, William Tenn, Jack Vance, Kurt Vonnegut, Jack Williamson and Donald A. Wollheim. Ernest Kinoy and George Lefferts adapted most of the stories and also provided original scripts.

In Science Fiction Television (2004), M. Keith Booker wrote:

    It was not until the 1950s that science fiction radio really hit its stride, even as science fiction was beginning to appear on television as well. Radio programs such as Mutual's 2000 Plus and NBC's Dimension X were anthology series that offered a variety of exciting tales of future technology, with a special focus on space exploration (including alien invasion), though both series also often reflected contemporary anxieties about the dangers of technology.

We at the Nazarene Radio Network would like to invite you to come back with us to a simpler time... before television lost track of family values... and even before television, when families would gather around the radio and listen together.  When comedy wasn’t vulgar, when good always prevailed over evil and when father always knew best.

Views: 102

 

 

 

















 

LINKS

 

 

 

 

Badge

Loading…

© 2019   Created by James Trimm.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service